What a sunset can bring...
7:54 p.m. | 2003-02-05

This evening during dinner God�s sunset caught my eye and I ventured in to my backyard to get a better look. I laid still in the center of the grass with the hood of my sweater pulled up over my head and tied tightly under my chin. I laid there long enough to watch the sky turn from red to orange to violet and then fade to a deep blue.

I watched the clouds pass overhead until only the stars that were vibrant enough to outshine the city lights appeared in the vast distance about me. The subtle breeze chilled the bare skin of my hands and face. I closed my eyes and listened to the gentle sound of the crickets under the near by patio.

For the first time in weeks I had forgotten about all the craziness in my life and felt a calming peace come over me. My eyes blurred open and my sight fixed upon the trail of airplane lights above as they lined up waiting for their turn to land at LAX.

�He should be home soon.� I thought to myself.

A tear drifted down my cheek as the peace I had felt died somewhere inside me. My thought traveled back to what I missed so much�

And what I would still be missing long after the airplanes landed, the stars disappeared, and the sound of the crickets diminished behind tomorrows coming dawn�

old washing || new muck

new entry old entries profile book notes bored? pastime rambles visuals random layout host