pictures in a shoebox...
3:40 p.m. | 2003-03-08

I couldn't sleep last night

Starting to be a habit�

I came across this picture yesterday.

I miss that place,

My place�

The place I spent my summers as a child

Running through the wild flowers in the fields,

Picking the prettiest ones to bring back to the house.

Laying under the big oak tree with my dog Sammie.

I'd rest my head on her side and we'd keep each other company under the mid day sun.

We'd play in the creek together when it got too hot

She ate plums with me from the orchard�

She was my best friend.

I'd watch the horses dance and race each other on the hillside.

The coal colored one was my favorite.

He'd stand so tall on his hind legs. Showing his dominance to the others.

Grandma would make sweet rolls from goose eggs.

Grandpa would take me fishing at the near by lake.

I'd always catch the biggest fish,

But then when grandpa wasn't looking I'd let it go�

Life was simple then.

And now it seems so far away�

They put Sammie to sleep and didn't tell me.

Grandma's gone now,

Been gone since 93.

And Grandpa can't remember my name�

I haven't been to that place in years.

Maybe it's better that way�

old washing || new muck

new entry old entries profile book notes bored? pastime rambles visuals random layout host