To Ashley....
12:13 a.m. | 2003-06-30

Sometimes, I don�t say the most important things enough. I think that just might be one of my biggest flaws�amongst many.

I think sometimes I concentrate so much on the bad that I overlook the good�

I�ve been doing that a lot lately�

I think I should start to count my blessings. Because taking them for granted just doesn�t seem so sweet anymore.

I love Ashley so much.

She is my best friend, and I know that I probably wouldn�t be alive if God had never of brought her to me.

It�s funny, cause I�ve known many people over the years that I�ve made the mistake of calling a best friend.

Or even a friend for that matter.

But each one has faded away through lies, deceit, betrayal, or distance.

Truth is, I�ve never had a best friend until Ashley.

She is my rock. She is my safety. She is whom I strive to be like because her strength and willpower surpass anything I�ve ever seen. She has energy and a love for life and God that I only dream of. She is so beautiful�

I know that sometimes I write things in here that she would otherwise wish I had left out. Such as the time I wrote about her bowel movements, or the time she took a swan dive in the parking lot trying to jump over a bush and I was too busy laughing to help her crippled butt up�

Yeah that was fun�

But I know that no matter what I might say, or write. Or what I might do that she would otherwise advise against, she will always be there when I need her.

It is impossible to count just how many times she has picked me up when I�ve lost track of things in life.

She never says, �I told you so.�

Even though she so easily could.

She knows me. And she knows what to do and how to react to every aspect about me. She knows that when I�m mad or irritated, that stepping back and giving me space is the best thing to do. She knows that I don�t like to be pushed, and that I�ll come around when I�m ready too.

She knows that I�m not perfect, and that sometimes my past gets the best of me and I don�t always act like the Christian I should.

She doesn�t judge.

She knows I�m still learning.

I�ve seen Ashley change so much in the short time I�ve known her. I�ve watched her grow and mature and learn life�s hard lessons. I�ve watched her battle love lost. I�ve watched her learn to live with being homeless. I�ve watched her become her mother�s backbone while she lay bedridden with Cancer. I�ve watched her deal with being completely broke, and still have a smile on her face�

She never once complained or felt sorry for herself�

THAT is Faith my friends�

I know that sometimes I feel that I�m not as important in her life as I once was. If that assumption is at all true, it is my own fault entirely. These last seven months have been complete hell for me. And I�ve pushed her away the whole time. It�s amazing at how much boys can ruin�

Sometimes Ashley can be very absent minded, and a little self-centered and I don�t think she well ever fully �get� me and all the weird things I do. I think that sometimes she talks about Brian too much, and even though it might get on my nerves every once in awhile, I cannot deny the fact that I would probably be the same way if God ever brought me someone as wonderful as Brian�

They deserve each other�

I really don�t know where this entry is coming from. I guess I just miss her tonight. It�s so hard not seeing her as much as I used to. There once was a time when we were inseparable. Where she was, I was and day after day each other�s company was enough to make the day worth wild.

She is the most comfort I�ve ever had.

Vanilla.

Her signature scent is all that it takes to calm me�and I don�t care how annoying her voice and laugh might be, I wouldn�t have it any other way�

I love her completely, fully, flaws and all�

I would do anything for her, and give her the world if I could because I know she deserves it.

And without a doubt, I know that in 60 years when we are old and gray and our scents of vanilla and pears have faded away to smells of Ben-Gay and formaldehyde�we will still be together, rockin� out to New Found Glory and Switchfoot�

And I could not ask for more�

As iron sharpens iron, and friend sharpens a friend.
Proverbs 27:17

old washing || new muck

new entry old entries profile book notes bored? pastime rambles visuals random layout host