The days are longer when he's gone...
8:24 p.m. | 2005-01-10

I watched him press his hand against the passenger side window. Two fingers and a thumb pressed against the glass in the sign of love. His warm skin left an imprint on the cold frosted window. The rain fell, and as I drove away I watched his image fade in my rearview mirror.

I don�t know when he�ll be back.

He�s not sure either.

Work, or rather the lack of money took him away to Arizona to work with a friend of his fathers.

No warning. No preparation. Just one phone call on Saturday afternoon and he was gone by Sunday morning.

We haven�t been away from each other for more than 24 hours in the past year and a half.

It�s only Monday, and already I don�t know what to do with myself.

But it�s tomorrow I fear.

I wish I could fall asleep tonight and wake up sometime Wednesday�

Tomorrow is our anniversary.

The one day that comes once a year and I�m spending it alone�

My plan is to do nothing tomorrow. I�m calling in sick to work, I canceled my long awaited doctors appointment and I�m only going to school for one class that will be out by 11am. The rest of my day will be spent laying in bed, watching movies, and perhaps a few margaritas.

I feel miserable.

I feel like I�m half a person.

Sound crazy?

I know. It sounds absurd to me too, but I�ll never be able to explain what it is about him that makes me loose myself.

He�s not just some guy I�m dating; he�s not just a boyfriend. He�s my best friend. He�s the boy I fell in love with 8 year ago while I walked quietly behind him down the halls of our high school, just wishing he�d turn around�

Because of him, I know what unconditional love is.

I slipped a letter and a picture of us in his bag.

On the envelope I wrote �Tuesday��

Happy Anniversary to me�

old washing || new muck

new entry old entries profile book notes bored? pastime rambles visuals random layout host